Tuesday, October 20, 2009

I can't wait to hear Tim McClelland's excuse...

The horrific post-season continues for MLB's umpires. In the 5th inning of game 4 of the ALCS, Posada at 3rd, Cano at 2nd and 1 out, Nick Swisher bounces a ball back to Angels' pitcher Darren Oliver. Oliver throws home, and Mike Napoli runs Posada back to 3rd. Cano, watching the play, stops short of 3rd base. Posada gets back to 3rd and overruns it into foul territory. Napoli tags Cano, not standing on a base, and then tags Posada, not standing on a base. Double-play, inning over.

Except that it isn't. Somehow, Robinson Cano, who never actually reached 3rd base, and was standing in the baseline with the ball in play, is tagged out, but not put out, and he's awarded 3rd base. I cannot wait to hear 3rd base umpire Tim McClelland's reason for allowing a runner who was tagged out in the baseline to be awarded the base.

It is long past time for MLB to put an umpire in a room with all of the video feeds and let him correct the obvious mistakes made on the field. LONG past time...

Labels: , , ,

|

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Comment?

<< Home

Links to this post

Links to this post:

Create a Link